| Princeton students, need help with your history research? Make an appointment with Elizabeth Bennett, Librarian for History and History of Science. |
 |
|
Digital history: full text primary sources for historians
Princeton University Library owns or subscribes to a number of large digital collections
of primary sources. Many are based on microfilm collections which we also own. While this list
is not comprehensive, it is a guide to the digital collections most frequently used by history
students. To identify further resources, please check the resources listed under "history" at Articles & Databases: History, search the Main Catalog, or consult the History Librarian.
(For help with printing from these collections, see Printing for historical digital collections.)
- Early English Books Online [EEBO](1475-1700)
About 100,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in Great Britain and British America, or in English anywhere, between 1475 and 1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online [ECCO] (1701-1800)
About 150,000 books printed in Great Britain (and British America) between 1701 and 1800. Primarily in English, but also in some other languages.
- American History & Culture Online [Sabin Americana] (1500-1926)
About 30,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides written or printed in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s.
- Archive of Americana
- Making of the Modern World (1450-1850)
About 61,000 books, periodicals, pamphlets and ephemera that document economic and business activity in the West printed between 1450 and 1850. Primarily in English, but includes a substantial amount of material in French and some German and other languages. Note: items in the Main Catalog that are from the Goldsmiths'-Kress microfiche collection, Microfilm SO0656, should also be in this digital collection.
| |